Pennant News


Mar 19, 2020
Pennant cancelled for 2020
Mar 16, 2020

The 2020 pennant season resumed on Sunday 15th March with the team convening at Ranfurlie Golf Club. Our opponents for the day were Settlers Run, arguably the strongest team in our division, who also had the advantage of playing at a neighbouring course. Ranfurlie would also prove to be a challenging track, particularly as the wind picked up later in the afternoon.

The side welcomed back Tim Blackwood who slotted into the number 7 position, with Hamish, Rod, Peter, Justin, Cam and Joel making up the rest of the team. As the matches progressed it was clear that it was going to be close all day, and so it proved, with all matches bar one, going to the last 1 or 2 holes.

Joel once again proved his credentials as our number one player, easily defeating his opponent 6/5 with a great display of controlled golf in the challenging conditions. Unfortunately we were on the wrong side of the overall 6 and 1 defeat. The other results were as follows:

Joel 6 and 5 up

Cam 1 down

Justin 1 down

Peter 3 and 1 down

Rod 3 and 2 down

Hamish 2 down

Tim 2 and 1 down

Once again the side put in a great display but Settlers Run were just too strong for us on the day and they now sit undefeated at the top of the ladder, having lost only 3 matches so far this season. Cheltenham sit mid table with 5 other sides all having 1 win. We travel to sunny Bacchus March next week where our opponents will be Green Acres.

Paul Finlay/David Wigg

Pennant Managers

Mar 2, 2020

A great day greeted players for the 2nd round of the pennant season at CGC. Hats off to Tom and Callum for presenting the course in great condition – quite a few players and spectators from the visiting clubs were impressed with the standard of the course and couldn’t believe that we only have 2 ground staff and volunteers to prepare the course.

As I was on starting duties for the day, David Wigg kindly agreed to take over the manager’s role and now has a 100% success rate as the boys were able to play great golf and secure a long awaited win, defeating Berwick Montuna 6/1. We had another player debut for our club, with Justin Mayer coming in at number 4, who looked right at home, winning 2 up in his match. The match result were as follows:

Joe Harrod won 4 and 3

Cam Lines won 1 up

Peter Neal won 6 and 5

Justin Mayer won 2 up

Rod Oudshoorn won 1 up (withstanding a birdie and eagle blitz by his opponent)

Hamish Bertram won 4 and 3

Ryan Marshall lost 2 and 1

And I must say thank you to all the staff and volunteers who put on such a good event for the day. David and Andrew had everything organised for the visiting clubs, Raelene had the bar ticking over and our large band of volunteers had the egg and bacon rolls going all day. We now have a break for the long weekend before our next match against Settlers Run at Ranfurlie – I hope to see you there.

Feb 28, 2020

Our men’s pennant team travelled to a well-conditioned Green Acres on Sunday 23rd of February for the first round of the 2020 pennant season.

Some fresh faces were in the side with Ryan Marshall and Tim Blackwood making their pennant debut. Also in the side were Cam Lines (Captain), Joel Harrod, Peter Neal, Rod Oudshoorn, Hamish Bertram and David Wigg.

Fast greens, coupled with some strong winds created some tricky conditions for the players. The team performed really well and most matches were not decided until the last couple of holes.
Unfortunately we were on the wrong side of the 4/3 score line, but the result could have gone to either team.

Special mention to Rod Oudshoorn on his first win in pennant. Rod has contributed significantly to pennant over a number of years and it was pleasing to see him get the result. Hamish also performed well, and after a tough start managed to take his opponent to the 20th hole, before finally getting the win. Cam Lines also had a win, playing a high quality (and long hitting) match, winning 1 up on the 18th.

The team are all excited about playing on our home track on Sunday 1st March (early bird start at 0745) and I hope to see you all out there supporting the side. Thanks to all the sponsors who have supported the team, and you can still come on board if you would like to contribute.

See you on Sunday.

Paul Finlay
Captain & Pennant Manager

Feb 12, 2020

Hi everyone.

Please see the the left hand side of this page which is where you can download this year's pennant draws.

The Mens Team consists of:

Cameron Lines (Captain)
Hamish Bertram
Ryan Marshall
Justin Mayer
Joel Harrod
Rod Oudshoorn
David Wigg
Tim Blackwood
Jack Weber
Peter Neal

Paul Finlay (Manager)

The Ladies team consists of:
Julie Bond
Vicki Standfield
Pam Jowett
Diane Rushbrook
Meg Waters
Marjory Musgrave-Evans
Alison Molloy
Bev Steeden.

Caddies include Julie Dobie, Peter Bond, Sandra Lindsay, Jan Casey, Jeanette Burggraaff and Isabel Frean.